Polarjazz Festival

It's been a while since my post about the snow scooter course. But don't worry I didn't forget you! I've just been very busy practicing with the BigBand for the, believe it or not, northernmost music festival: Polarjazz.

Yesterday evening we played our first concert in the local culture house. It was the kickoff for the Festival and featured all the local artists and ensembles. I was stunned by the huge number of very good musicians in this small community. It was great fun to meet them and play together. Afterwards there was free food and drinks for the artists. Good for you because that's the reason why I didn't feel like getting up and spending my free day running up and skiing down mountains. Instead I got time to write some lines.

Free day is actually not completely true since I have another BigBand practice coming up tonight. While the next days are mainly run by popular Norwegian artists, we will play again on Sunday in the end of the festival.

As I said before the BigBand has been rehearsing a lot the past days. During the weekend we had the very good and quite famous saxophone player Håkon Erlandsen as a coach. It has been great to work with him and we as a band benefited a lot from his input.

As a members of the BigBand we got the tickets to the festival cheaper. So I'm looking forward to listen to some nice concerts, dive into the Norwegian music scene and be a part of it myself during the coming days.

Write a comment

Comments: 0