Day one, two and the northernmost BigBand

My fist day at UNIS was very interesting but so long that I fell asleep as soon as I got home. It started with the walk from Nybyen to Longyearbyen at 8 a.m. and we had lectures until the evening. Today was not as exhausting and I could manage to write another post.

Welcome to Svalbard and UNIS

As in any other university our time at UNIS began with many welcome and introduction speeches. Different is that we got an introduction to the local wildlife/nature laws by the police. Later on when the departments were introduced I got the impression that the professors are actually very happy and nearly as exited as us to teach and work with us the coming semester. Overall it was a very warm atmosphere.
We also got to meet our fellow students before we were divided into "mixed" groups for the safety course.

Safety course

With UNIS welcome procedure comes a mandatory safety course. It is meant to teach us basic survival skills that might be necessary in this hostile environment. But during the first lectures the  focus was rather on what could potentially go wrong. After learning about wind holes, crevasses, hypothermia, falling through sea ice, frostbite and avalanches (just to name a few) the polar bears seam like one of the smaller problems. However the guys from logistics at UNIS seem to be the best to learn from.

Camping

This morning my group went camping. In case of an emergency on a snowmobile trip the groups always carry a box with basic survival equipment for the arctic with them. Two of the most essential things are tents and gasoline stoves. To be prepared first learned how to light and work with the stoves. To my surprise they seemed far easier to handle and burned way better than any other gasoline stove I used before. Same for the tents. We learned how to put them up under (imaginary) blizzard conditions. After two runs inside we took the gear out and build the tent in the snow. We also learned how to set up a trip wire as a warning system in case a polar bear attack.

First aid

In the afternoon our first aid knowledge was refreshed and extended. We went over the procedure when finding an unconscious person and how to handle the situation. We also learned how to treat different types of common injuries. The things you also learn in a ordinary first aid course. But the nice ladies form the Red Cross surprised us with some chunks of raw meet and we could practice how to treat an arterial bleeding of wound with deep cavity.
Of course we went out late on and practiced among other things how to wrap up a person to prevent it from becoming hypothermic.

The northernmost BigBand

I came home from UNIS in the late afternoon. After getting some dinner and hanging out with my neighbours I was on my way to another highlight of this day. As I mentioned in my first post I heard about a BigBand in Svalbard. One of the guys in my safety course happens to play with them and I decided to join him for this weeks rehearsal in the local school (Tuesdays seem to be the universal BigBand rehearsal days). I was lucky and they could even provide me a trumped. It was a lot of fun to finally play with a band again. The people were extremely nice and welcoming. We even got a ride back to our Barracks and I'm already looking forward to next weeks rehearsal.

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Jetta (Friday, 15 January 2016 00:30)

    Du kan snakke med Vera nå av alle ting krise og helse! Kjempebra trening :D